“If you took my things away I wouldn’t be me anymore.”

Walking sleepless through Harlem
until the world moved under me.
And I ask, “Why?”
“What is the purpose?”
I hold back and stay honest.

Through the no moan jazz, yes, I can hear Harlem.
Through the so slow sound, yes, I can hear Harlem.
Through the gospel song, yes, I can hear Harlem.
Through the love of my sister’s, yes, I can hear Harlem.

What images would you add to bring this alive for you?
What music do you hear?
What questions do YOU have?

Leave a Reply

